When a DN becomes Inactive or remains Active?

When a DN becomes Inactive or remains Active?

Do you know when does a directory number becomes “Inactive” or remains “Active” after you delete IP Phone or Disassociate Directory Number on Cisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM)? Well, i am sure most of you are aware of this and there are very few people like me who might have never noticed.

Your Answers is:

Active = If you disassociate a directory number from an IP Phone, the directory number will be still active. It will have “Active” checkbox checked in the Directory Configuration Page.

Inactive = If you delete an IP Phone, the directory number will become “Inactive”. The “Active” checkbox will be unchecked in the Directory Configuration Page.

Simple but tricky!

Hope this helps!

Originally posted 2016-07-15 16:45:53. Published by Team UC Collabing

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Lucas says:

    Well, in my experience, when you disassociate a DN from a phone, the ‘Active’ checkbox for that DN is indeed checked BUT calls to that DN fail. I have to uncheck the checkbox (making it Inactive), click Save, then recheck the checkbox and Save to make it Active again. Don’t know if it’s a known bug but it happened to me on CUCM version 9.1 and 12.5.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.